What will I do to create a different reality?

I just picked up the winter 2008 issue of Yes!  Glancing over “the page that counts” the following jumped out at me:

“Number of incarcerated out of every 100,000 black males in Apartheid South Africa in 1993: 851.

Number of incarcerated out of every 100,000 black males in the United States in 2006:4,789.”

I know that by now stats such as this should not come as a big surprise. But – holy shit. To overstate the obvious this is not okay!  

And as I look ahead to 2008 (I’m all about the symbolic “new beginnings… bring on the resolutions, goals, dreams…) I know that one of the questions I need to ask myself is what am I going to do to change this reality – or more to the point to create a different reality?

Leave a Reply

