Re-entry, reports, and an elephant

Recently I had this amazing opportunity to travel to Kenya. I went to take part in the events of the Nonviolent Peaceforce; the International Governing Council meeting, the conference on Unarmed Civilian Protection, and the International Assembly. It was amazing. Nonviolent Peaceforce is amazing.  (Check out the website: http://www.nonviolentpeaceforce.org )

Then, having spent the money on the airline ticket and the countless hours on a plane, I took advantage of the opportunity and had some play time, me time, vacation. That was also amazing.

And yet, I have not been able to write in any articulate way about the experience. In fact, I am sitting in front of the computer now because I am supposed to be working on a report on the events for Michigan Peace Team.  You can see how well that is going….

Why? What is it that is blocking me from getting something down about it all? 

Goddess knows, my poor friends have listened to endless rambling on and on about it. The meeting, the, the people there, my thoughts on each of the speakers, my thoughts on my thoughts on the speakers, my travels and adventures after the meeting, etc., the subjects all creep into our conversations about anything and everything.

I guess that is just it, when I’m talkin’ to my friends about it endless rambling is fine. It doesn’t matter that the conversation is disjointed, and that I interrupt myself jumping from subject to subject and then back again. It’s easy to see how the work relates to so much else in my life.

But that disjointed rambling doesn’t work so well in a report.

Yet, I think there is more to it than that.  I think it’s the same thing – or at least related to – what has made “reentry” in to my “real life” so difficult.  Which is what exactly? Not sure really. Something about the trip seems to have turned on the tape, you know the one… “What am I doing with my life? How am I doing it? Is it what I want?”  The thing is -I am. Well, I think I am? But then why does the tape keep playing? I guess I just need to let it all percolate for a bit and see what answers the universe brings. 

In the meantime, back to that report…

This baby elephant is one of the many at the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage. I fell in love with them all….

At the elephant orphanage in Kenya

2 responses to “Re-entry, reports, and an elephant

  1. Ignore an air compressor and save an elephant! love you soooo much. thank you for making me laugh! JIG

  2. I love you too. Good luck…with all of it.

Leave a Reply

